(left to right: The Honorable Philip L. Shea, Dr. Gary K. Wallace, President of LYAP, Ann & Kevin Murphy with family)


Lowell Housing Authority's nonprofit affiliate, the Lowell Youth Activities Program (LYAP) hosted their 23rd annual scholarship awards reception on June 15th.  The event awards academic scholarships to students living in low-income housing, who are pursuing higher education in various disciplines. Each year, LYAP also recognizes leaders in the community for their commitment to education and youth within the City. This year's honorees were Kevin and Ann Murphy of the City of Lowell who presented the awards, surrounded by their immediate family, and with the assistance of the Honorable Philip L. Shea of Lowell. The event, which was held at the Whistler House Museum in Lowell, was well attended with over eighty community members coming together to congratulate Ann and Kevin and our young scholars who are approaching the start of a new academic year. The LYAP, through the generous contributions from corporate sponsors and individual donors was able to successfully award $17,250 in scholarships this year.  Thank you to all of our supporters who continue to make a difference in the lives of our residents, and help to ensure the longevity of our worthy cause.


Congratulations to the Lowell Youth Activities Program, Inc.

Philip L. Shea Youth Scholarship Award Recipients of 2017!


Ashely Cabrera

Middlesex Community College, Business


Sunny Chum

Middlesex Community College, Computer Science


Wilson Lopez Cruz

Middlesex Community College, Liberal Arts & Science


Michael Doung

University of Massachusetts at Boston, Management


Steven Doung

University of Massachusetts at Lowell, Business


Khoing Kim

Middlesex Community College, Computer Science


Rathana Meng

University of Massachusetts at Lowell, Plastics Engineering


Sopanha Phan

University of Massachusetts at Lowell, Computer Science


Chetra Rath

Massachusetts College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences, Doctor of Pharmacy


Clarice Rwakabuba  

Bridgewater State University, Biochemistry


Judith Rwakabuba

Bridgewater State University, Criminology


Rehema Rwakabuba

Fitchburg State University, Political Science


Xavier Thomas

Dean College, Arts & Entertainment Management

Did you miss the event?  Check out the event highlights.